ClubNews‎ > ‎

Newtown Blues U14 boys were the Louth representatives in this year’s Féile Peil 2012

posted 27 Jun 2012, 05:28 by Orlaith Nugent   [ updated 6 Jul 2012, 13:14 ]
Newtown Blues were the Louth representatives in this year’s Feil Peil, which was held over the weekend of 22-24 June in Laois and Offaly. 

The Under 14 team did their club, families and county proud by reaching the Division 4 final played in Portlaoise on Sunday.

The opening game was played on Friday at 3 pm in their host club grounds Clogh Ballacolla just outside Portlaoise. After a blistering start the Blues won the game by 6.07 to 0.03. 

The Feile Peile parade followed next, the 152 participating teams met at O’Moore park before marching through Portlaoise stopping at the viewing stand where the Blues captain Ross Nally was presented with the Feile pennant by the GAA President, Liam O’ Neill, legendary commentator Micheal O Muircheartaigh was on hand to inform the large crowds of each club’s history as the marched through the town.

The next morning the Blues had an early start to travel to Birr Co Offaly, another good win for the Blues over Birr 2:15 to 0.00 set them up for the last group game against early pace setters South London. The ex pats where a big strong physical team who had won their opening games well but the Blues where on top of their game winning 6:08 to 1.00.

It was on to Portarlington for the semi final against Shandonagh of Westmeath, many neutral observers reckon this was the game of the competition, it was nip and tuck all the way through with the Blues coming out on a 2.09 to 2.06 scoreline. 

After a hectic days football it was back to Ballacolla for a barbecue by the host club, the hospitality shown was in true spirit of what the Feile is all about.

The final was played in Portlaoise at 12pm against Longford Champs Killoe Og, they had come through a very strong side of the competition beating Castlehaven of Cork and Enniskillen Gaels of Fermanagh and the game went right to the wire with a penalty in the last minute winning it for the Longford team on a score line of 2.02 to 0.05.

Newtown Blues squad: Dean Martin, Adam Mc Ginn, Donal Carr, Alan Connor, Jamie Doherty, Jamie Kelly, Ronan Levins, Robert Sullivan, Ian Connor, Reece Garry, Nathan Seery, Mickey Walsh, Declan Mc Namara, Cian Lynch, Oisin Doherty, Evan Mc Ginn , Daire Nally, Niall O’Connor, Aaron Kierans, Ryan Levins, Craig Mc Loughlin, Lee Craydon, Ciaran Crowe, Ross Nally